This photo is from the Center's collection of cultural photography. It is a photo of the mural in the São Luiz cinema in Recife, PE, Brazil.
To learn about "cultural photography", click here.
To visit our full catalogue of photography online, click here.
The University of Oklahoma Tulsa

center for studies in democracy and culture
The scheduling of in-person events is now on hold pending new developments with the Omnicron covid virus.
Prof. Rodger Randle, the Center Director, will be the speaker for the Travels with Tulsans series of the Tulsa Library. The historic center of Sana'a in Yemen will be the topic.
via Zoom
Oklahoma State Sen. John Montgomery (R-Lawton) will be the Center's guest for a small luncheon to learn perspectives on current state issues from a western Oklahoma viewpoint.
Join Us!
We would love to add you to our invitation list. Click here and send an email with your name.

Recent Events: luncheon in honor of
the rt. hon. Penny Mordaunt
The Rt. Hon. Penny Mordaunt, Minister for Foreign Trade Policy for the United Kingdom, listens as former Gov. David Walters discusses his business interests in the UK. Listening are Trait Thompson, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Historical Society, and Sen. John Montgomery (R-Lawton).


No in-person events have been scheduled so far for January 2022 because of the uncertainty about the omicron virus.

The Center held two events in December:

The first December event was a small luncheon for community leaders with OU-Tulsa President, Dr. James Sluss. Over a dozen people gathered in one of our "salon" style small events that we have introduced since the coming of covid. Dr. Sluss talked about challenges facing higher education, and also provided the guests with insights into new research developments in his academic area of electrical engineering.

The second was a luncheon in Oklahoma City for the Rt. Hon. Penny Mordaunt, British Minister for Trade Policy. The Minister was accompanied to Oklahoma City by Consul General Richard Hyde from Houston and by staff from the British Embassy in Washington, as well as staff from her London office. The luncheon was held in the Board Room of the Oklahoma Historical Society, and guests included Brea Clark, Mayor of Norman, Dr. Debbie Blanke, Senior Vice-Chancellor for the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Pam Pollard, Republican National Committeewoman from Oklahoma, Rep. Andy Fugate (D-Del City), Sen. John Montgomery (R-Lawton), Vicky Gourley, publisher of Oklahoma City's Friday newspaper, and former Oklahoma Gov. David Walters, among others.

(The Center is the home of the British Honorary Consulate in Oklahoma, and assisted with the organizing of Minister Mordaunt's visit.)
"We believe that informed and engaged citizens are the foundation of a healthy and enduring democracy."
We bring people together to connect with each other and to share in a community of citizens engaged in the civic life of our city and state.

Our programs are non-partisan and we welcome diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

We organize and sponsor a broad variety of programs and activities, but all are designed to support our mission of promoting involvement in the civic life of our community. All of our activities are open to the public. We hope you will join us too!

Our web studies also further our mission by offering opportunities for visitors to our site to learn more about the culture of Tulsa and the forces that formed it. Click here to learn more about us.
The Center is the home of the
British Honorary Consulate
in Oklahoma.

The Director of the Center for Studies in Democracy and Culure is Prof. Rodger Randle.

He can be reached by telephone at 1-918-779-5713, or by email at randle@ou.edu.

The mailing address for the Center is:

Prof. Rodger Randle
The University of Oklahoma Tulsa
4503 East 41st Street
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74135


Rt. Hon. Henry McLeish, Dra. Pura Fernández Rodríguez, Dr. Zidane Zeraoui, Anthony Perry, Prof. Dr. Syed Muhammad Awais, M.D., José Carlos Rassier, Dra. Renata de Melo Rosa, Hon. Héctor Hugo Rotela, M.D.

Dr. Moussa Blimpo, Carol Robertson Lopez, Oliver St. Clair Franklin OBE, Danny L. McDonald, Sherman Banks

Clifton Taulbert, Ronny Altman, Dr. Dyal Meshri, Hon. Meloyde Blancett, Enrique Villar-Gambetta, Moisés Echeverría, Hon. Judy Eason-McIntyre, James Dunn, Hon. John Kennedy, Lou Kerr, Connie Cronley, Dr. Rico Buchli, Jayne Reed, Charles Garrett, Dr. Barbara Bucholtz, Hon. Dave Rader, Ross Swimmer, Hon. Jo Anna Dossett

For biographical information about the members of the Council of Advisors, click here.

final notes...
The seal of the Center for Studies in Democracy and Culture depicts the island of Rokovoko at sunset.
The motto of the Center is "Klaatu Barada Nikto".